Avon Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Avon Avon Calming Effects Illuminating Foundation

Avon Avon Calming Effects Illuminating Foundation

Gentle creamy foundation refreshes the appearance of stressed skin and helps give a natural, dewy look. Vitamin enriched. Dermatologically tested. UVA and UVB protection. Enriched with a vitamin complex, aloe and lavender. 30ml
Average Customer Rating:
4.347 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (49 reviews)
5 stars
30
4 stars
12
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
2
43 out of 49(88%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Avon
Customer Reviews for Avon Calming Effects Illuminating Foundation
Review 1 for Avon Calming Effects Illuminating Foundation
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

shame about the dispenser

Date:28 December 2013
By 4kids2many
| Hampshire
| Age 55-65
| Skin type Sensitive
| Hair type Coloured
Love this product, previous purchases of calming effects foundation have been in a tube, which lasts forever and ensures you get the last bit out, this new one in a pump dispenser will always leave some in the bottle and will ensure you have to buy it more frequently, disappointed in that. Product excellent though.
Review 2 for Avon Calming Effects Illuminating Foundation
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent Purchase

Date:11 October 2013
By Patce
| Woking
| Age Over 65
| Skin type Sensitive
| Hair type Mature
This suits my ageing skin so well and blends in so
easily - only need to use a small amount.
Review 3 for Avon Calming Effects Illuminating Foundation
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Beautiful lasting results!

Date:29 July 2013
By Emmie
| northern Ireland
| Age 25-34
| Skin type Combination
| Hair type Fine
I really love this foundation. My skin is very sensitive and it would be combination skin type. This foundation gave me smooth results and a natural finish without it sticking or clumping to patches of skin. It also did not dry out my skin. I felt that there was little need for powder as the foundation lasted all day, which is great when you are a busy mother, (running about all day doing chores and shopping and slaving over a hot cooker making dinner for everyone..).that come 8pm when a surprise visitor calls at the door or you need to nip out to the shops it is great to know and have the confidence that this fantastic foundation has stayed put and you still looks really good.
Review 4 for Avon Calming Effects Illuminating Foundation
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

great makeup base.

Date:10 July 2013
By Monroe89
| yorkshire
| Age 18-24
| Skin type Combination
| Hair type Fine
i have used this makeup for a while but as a makup base. its very light and creamy but doesnt give much coverage to wear on its own so i use a thin layer as a base, it really brightens my skin and dulls down any red patches and blemishes as i have really sensitive, acne prone skin, as i only use a little amount the bottle is pricey but usually lasts me 2-3 months so not bad really.
i would definately recomend to someone who doesnt need much coverage and is wanting a natural look as it doesnt go caky and makes your skin look very refreshed.
i have really light skin so its hard to find a colour that doesnt make my skin look orange, Ivory is usually perfect for me but after catching a bit of sun its now way too light but the other colours are way too dark so im struggling to find an alternative. :-/
Review 5 for Avon Calming Effects Illuminating Foundation
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Smooth

Date:22 May 2013
By xxchezxx
| Shropshire
| Age 25-34
| Skin type Combination
| Hair type Greasy/Oily
A nice light, soft and creamy foundation. Better than high cost make up brands by miles
Review 6 for Avon Calming Effects Illuminating Foundation
Overall: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Disappointing!

Date:20 April 2013
By Ennie
| North East
| Age 25-34
| Skin type Combination
| Hair type Coloured
I tried this in ivory as I have very pale skin that gets irritated easily. This foundation does absolutely nothing for me! It doesn't even out tone in the slightest or cover any blemishes or redness. It does apply easily and blend well but the coverage is next to none. It also doesn't last and as others have said it can go cakey or flake. I've started using a small amount as more of a base or primer for other products. It may work better for you if you aren't as pale with fewer imperfections though.
Review 7 for Avon Calming Effects Illuminating Foundation
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Help with colour

Date:19 April 2013
By Jillbur
| Erskine, Renfrewshire, Scotland
| Age 35-44
| Skin type Sensitive
| Hair type Coloured
I have this product, its obviously a bit old, the colour I have is porcelain beige, my problem is not sure which colour to buy in its place which would be a good match anybody any idea ????
Review 8 for Avon Calming Effects Illuminating Foundation
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

excellant

Date:18 April 2013
By pwwalk
| bradford
| Age 55-65
| Skin type Dry
| Hair type Frizzy
i love this foundation it does what it says it illuminates your skin which leaves it looking radiant its fab would not be without it
Review 9 for Avon Calming Effects Illuminating Foundation
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

good

Date:04 April 2013
By helen56
| aberdeen scotland
| Age 55-65
| Skin type Normal
| Hair type Mature
liked the foundation but should have gone for slightly darker colour was a bit too light for me
Review 10 for Avon Calming Effects Illuminating Foundation
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A* Product

Date:26 March 2013
By CARA
| Cheshire
| Age 25-34
| Skin type Sensitive
| Hair type Coloured
I have very sensitive skin and this foundation is ideal for my skin. Since using this product for last 12 months I have not had my eczema flare up. I also have fair skin and ivory is a great match for my skin tones.
Review 11 for Avon Calming Effects Illuminating Foundation
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

amazing

Date:22 March 2013
By Spence
| MANCHESTER
| Age 18-24
| Skin type Spot-prone
| Hair type Coloured
very silky, glides on like satin and is perfect for my skin. not oily, not greasy and has a really nice touch. covers blemishes easily, evens out skin tone and is almost unnoticeable. i would definitely recommend to a friend
Review 12 for Avon Calming Effects Illuminating Foundation
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Amazing!

Date:08 March 2013
By Tarrie
| Glasgow, Scotland
| Age 25-34
| Skin type Sensitive
| Hair type Curly
I have very very sensitive skin, finding a foundation that doesn't bring me out in a rash or make me break out has been a trial. I am also pretty pale with neutral undertones, so even if I find a good formula, almost all will be too dark or pinky/orange. I did my research on blogs etc and this was highly recommended. I ordered the ivory shade thinking that was the palest?!?! It's quite hard to tell sometimes on the website. It's an amazing match for me, the formula hasn't dried my skin out, it blends lovely, a little goes a way and hasn't got any sheen to it so looks quite natural. it isn't particularly thick, I used a concealer underneath, but that isn't a major issue for me, I will use a powder over the top if I need extra coverage.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Avon Calming Effects Illuminating Foundation
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent

Date:01 March 2013
By Lacey
| Warwickshire
| Age 45-54
| Skin type Normal
| Hair type Coloured
I usually wear the nude colour shade but tried ivory in this as the nude shade isn't available in this foundation. I have light fair/fair skin, and although this looked too light initially, it blended into the perfect colour for my skin tone.
It gives light / medium coverage and makes my skin look even toned and very healthy. It had very good staying power and lasted all day. love this foundation and will buy it again.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Avon Calming Effects Illuminating Foundation
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

favourite product in my make up bag

Date:26 January 2013
By hantibiotic
| swindon
| Age 18-24
| Skin type Sensitive
| Hair type Coloured
this foundation is perfect for me as I am allegric to nearly every foundation then my auntie suggested this one , it keeps my skin nice and soft and helps with my allergies to the chemicals in other products.
this leaves my skin looking flawless - I apply once a day and it lasts all day 10/10
Review 15 for Avon Calming Effects Illuminating Foundation
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Perfect for me

Date:27 December 2012
By meg123
| Middlesbrough
| Age 55-65
| Skin type Dry
| Hair type Fine
I had a expensive makeover last year but could not use the foundation at all.I went back to what I know, which is the Avon foundation I have used for a long time. It was like an old friend and was easy to apply and felt smoooth and non greasy. I have learned my lesson and will not be changing again.
Review 16 for Avon Calming Effects Illuminating Foundation
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great shade and coverage

Date:08 December 2012
By wsws
| North West
| Age 35-44
| Skin type Dry
| Hair type Damaged
This suits my incredibly pale skin in the lightest shade. Coverage is good, lasts well (although I do finish and set with mineral powder foundation). I use moisturiser as an initial 'primer' type layer so realise that this might affect the way it covers, some people do not use this step. Overall though, I'm very pleased and will definately buy this again :)
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Avon Calming Effects Illuminating Foundation
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The best!

Date:15 November 2012
By Rufus
| London
| Age 25-34
| Skin type Sensitive
| Hair type Curly
I've tried so many foundations from so many brands, and this is the best! I refuse to spend a fortune on foundation as I wear it almost everyday, but this is affordable and lasts.
The colour blends nicely with my skin tone creating an even coverage and doesn't look like foundation. It gives a natural look covering blemishes, giving my skin a nice, healthy, natural glow!!
I use the colour trend concealer, the calming effect foundation and the colour trend press power on top to erase any shiny or dark patches.
Works a dream and will be part of my daily makeup rouine for years to come!!
Review 18 for Avon Calming Effects Illuminating Foundation
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Really good coverage

Date:23 October 2012
By mummymakeup
| Leeds
| Age 45-54
| Skin type Normal
| Hair type Coloured
Light make-up, which gives good coverage. Very happy
Review 19 for Avon Calming Effects Illuminating Foundation
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A lovely natural look

Date:23 October 2012
By lornalion
| Brighouse
| Age 25-34
| Skin type Combination
| Hair type Damaged
I love this foundation, it goes on so much better than other foundations. It blends into the skin so well.
I'm not sure about the 'calming effects', I'm not saying it doesn't have this quality and for some people it may work...but I don't use the foundation enough to see the effects. If I were to wear make-up daily, I might be able to comment further.
Review 20 for Avon Calming Effects Illuminating Foundation
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

amazing

Date:07 October 2012
By bpoacher
| wales
| Age Under 18
| Skin type Spot-prone
| Hair type Fine
best purchase ever!!
it covers freckles amazing,also covers redness of spots,would recommend this product to anyone!!
1 2 3 next>>